Chapter Discussions: Twilight, Chapter One – First Sight

Whos that sexy bitch sitting all alone? You know that was Bellas first thought.

"Who's that sexy bitch sitting all alone?" You know that was Bella's first thought.

So I was reading the marvelous blog Lauren’s Bite written by a wonderful lady named (duh, what else?) Lauren and through her, I learned that the Twilight Lexicon has a place where they have discussion questions for each chapter in the series. Nothing could be better to me, since I dearly love to discuss Twilight. With thanks to them, we have decided to post our answers here, and if you want to reply with your own, you can leave them in our comments, or on your own blog (and do check out The Lexicon and Lauren’s blog, they DID give me the idea. Thanks for being so brilliant, guys!)

Ok, let’s get started!

1. Did you relate to Bella right away? If so, what part of her did you identify with?

I related to Bella in a few ways. I moved about six times when I was in school, so I definitely know what it is like to be the new kid in school, the one everyone wants to get a look at. I’m also very shy, and I hate having tons of attention on me. My parents are divorced too, so I know what it’s like to be shuffled around sometimes.

2. What were your first impressions of Renee and Charlie?

I thought Renee was kinda irresponsible. Bella was always the one taking care of her, so I didn’t think she was very mature. I liked Charlie immediately, you can tell he really loves Bella in the way he was so excited for her return but he tried to hide it. He wanted to give her the space she needed. (“One of the best things about Charlie is he doesn’t hover.”- Twilight, pg 9*) I also thought Renee was kind of mean for walking out on Charlie. So I liked him better than Renee immediately.

3. What were your first impressions of the friends Bella meets?

I thought that Eric was a little too eager, like Mike was later. Jessica came off as bitchy and shallow, especially when she was talking about the Cullens, and I liked Angela right away.

4. Were you scared or intrigued by Edward?

I was kinda like, wtf? when I first read about his reaction. My mom had told me a basic synopsis of the book before, so I knew he was a vampire, but I didn’t know what was going on with him. But I was definitely intrigued.

5. What did you think of Edward’s odd behavior?

I knew it must have something to do with being a vampire, but I didn’t know exactly what it was. When he was so angry and sitting next to Bella the entire time, I was holding my breath while I was reading. I was sure it was nothing good.

6. Did this chapter hook you on the book or were you still trying to see what the fuss was?

I was going to read the book no matter what, just to see how it was different than the movie, but I  would have kept reading for sure if I didn’t have that reason.

Ok, so that was fun! Thank you again to Lauren, and member Sydflower at Twilight Lexicon for these questions and the idea.

-Whitley

So these questions aren’t really meant for a guy, as I’m sure I am one of the only few hundred or so who would openly admit to reading and furthermore enjoying the books ;).  Here it goes.

1. Did you relate to Bella right away? If so, what part of her did you identify with?

My life is probably the exact opposite of Bella, except for the teen-aged awkwardness that I still have :).

2. What were your first impressions of Renee and Charlie?

I will have to agree with Whitley on the subject of Renee, she is horribly immature, irresponsible… BUT she is also a great friend in ways the Charlie could never be.  Charlie on the other hand, was the older male Bella.  He made perfect sense to be her father.

3. What were your first impressions of the friends Bella meets?

Two words – FREAKIN’ ANNOYING… except for Angela.  They were the people I tried as hard as I could to stay away from in High School.

4. Were you scared or intrigued by Edward?

When I first saw the movie, I already knew he was a vampire, so I knew I couldn’t take him, but I would have probably said something to him, like, “Hey F*ckface, quit staring…”  which would the be followed by me getting my butt kicked all over the cafeteria.

5. What did you think of Edward’s odd behavior?

To be honest, I though it was a little creepy how offsetting Bella was to him.  I understand why she felt he hated her.  Hell if I were her and had some one that angry looking at me, I wouldn’t return to school… EVER.

unintendedchoice from Letters To Twilight said it best: “…Rob Pattinson looks to be jizzing in his pants…”

6. Did this chapter hook you on the book or were you still trying to see what the fuss was?

It was the first chapter of her first book, I was a little skeptical, and still didn’t see what all this hub-bub was all about.

Well that was about it for chapter 1 book 1, the first sight into the Twiverse.

-Jeremy


2 Comments

  1. Great idea! I enjoyed both of your answers. Here are mine.

    1. Did you relate to Bella right away? If so, what part of her did you identify with?
    Immediately. I moved around a lot as a kid. How well I remember being New. I’ve always been kind of a loner, never really an oddball, but never really fitting in either. When Bella never seemed to call anyone or think of any friends from Phoenix, I thought either it wasn’t realistic or that just wasn’t pertinent to the conversation–we didn’t get a day by day real time description after all. Then I took a good look at my own life. I have VERY few friends from my old home towns, and we only catch up every now and then. They aren’t a regular part of my life.

    2. What were your first impressions of Renee and Charlie?
    I thought Renee was unusual, and she really just served to show how unusual Bella is. I was glad that Stephenie Meyer didn’t really make it into the Bad Parents thing. I liked that Renee and Charlie were still friends and talked. Later I really appreciated how Renee handled things….you know, in Breaking Dawn. Charlie was great all the way through. I thought he did surprisingly well for all the sudden having a nearly adult daughter. He gave her her freedom until later when she messed up, and then he punished her appropriately. He was a real jerk to Edward, but that was understandable and kind of hilarious. As a child of divorce (yes, I relate to Bella that way too) I appreciated all of this.

    3. What were your first impressions of the friends Bella meets?
    This was another way I related to Bella. I have a tendency to have puppies following me around. My puppies don’t tend to do anything about how they feel, unlike Bella’s. I felt bad for her that day they all asked her out. As for her girls, I had Jessica pegged as shallow and horrible, and Angela pegged as a really nice girl, from the start.

    4. Were you scared or intrigued by Edward?
    Intrigued. I’m always intrigued by the vampire. I’ll admit, I looked at it all with a practiced eye. I knew it was a vampire novel, so I knew the vampires when I saw them. No surprizes there for anyone I’m sure. Bella and I picked the same Cute One from the crowd. I would have been stalking Edward out of everyone in the cafeteria, too. After that, while Bella was trying to figure out what Edward was, I was trying to figure out how vampires work in this ‘verse. When he stared her down in Biology I was again relating to Bella. I would have been trying to control my fear, while being pissed, and worried all at the same time.

    5. What did you think of Edward’s odd behavior?
    I figured it had something to do with how Bella smelled or some other vampire thing. As for the back and forth on being friends, I figured he was at war with himself.

    6. Did this chapter hook you on the book or were you still trying to see what the fuss was?
    I was hooked from Page 1. How could I not be, when I was finally dating a vampire through the fictional version of me?

  2. Thanks for your answers! They were really in depth. :)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.