Chapter Disscusions: Twilight, Chapter Two – Open Book

I wish Edward was my lab partner

I wish Edward was my lab partner

 It’s time for another Chapter Discussion over my favorite book in the series, Twilight. Remember, if you want to answer these questions yourself, you can post it on y0ur own blog and let us know, or you can reply in the comments.

 

1. Where did you think Edward had gone off to at the start of the chapter and why did you think he had vanished?

I wasn’t sure where he had gone, but I was VERY disappointed he wasn’t there. The book seemed to drag on with him gone. I knew it had something to do with his reaction to Bella though.

2. We learn a few things about Bella’s parents in this chapter. Charlie can’t cook – Renee is rather needy and so on. What does this tell us about Bella as an individual?

Bella had to grow up pretty fast in order to take care of her mother, but she doesn’t mind taking care of her family. She takes on the cooking at Charlie’s because she wants to.

3. What was your reaction to the polite way Edward treated Bella when he returned? Did you think he was putting on a show? How did it change your thoughts about his initial reaction to her?

When Edward came back and he was so nice to her, I was like *swoon*. Guys these days are not like that. It was was so sweet how he formally introduced himself to her. I didn’t think he was putting on a show, I just knew that whatever had been bothering him was fixed now. I was still as confused as Bella as to what that was.

4. What was your first explanation for the change in Edward’s eye color?

With him being a vampire, I was sure it had something to do with his thrist level. I knew he probably was thirsty that first day, but I wasn’t sure why he hadn’t reacted that way to anyone else, just Bella. But I thought he sounded HOT with the gold colored eyes!

Thanks again to Lauren’s Bite and Twilight Lexicon for the questions!

- Whitley

1. Where did you think Edward had gone off to at the start of the chapter and why did you think he had vanished?

Whitley had told me, so there was no guessing involved ;).

2. We learn a few things about Bella’s parents in this chapter. Charlie can’t cook – Renee is rather needy and so on. What does this tell us about Bella as an individual?

It shows Bella’s maturity.  She is older than her years.

3. What was your reaction to the polite way Edward treated Bella when he returned? Did you think he was putting on a show? How did it change your thoughts about his initial reaction to her?

As the story had been spoiled I knew the reason.

4. What was your first explanation for the change in Edward’s eye color?

I thought back to other vampire stories where faces changed (Whedon), and knew it had to do with the fact that he was more civil with the lighter eyes.  I wish my eyes were golden…

But there you have it, chapter 2.  Thanks for reading!

- Jeremy

2 Comments

  1. 1. Where did you think Edward had gone off to at the start of the chapter and why did you think he had vanished?
    Just away, anywhere to get away from Bella.

    2. We learn a few things about Bella’s parents in this chapter. Charlie can’t cook – Renee is rather needy and so on. What does this tell us about Bella as an individual?
    That while she seems like the average girl next door, she is not. She’s an old soul, a perfect match for Edward.

    3. What was your reaction to the polite way Edward treated Bella when he returned? Did you think he was putting on a show? How did it change your thoughts about his initial reaction to her?
    I thought he had gotten over the initial shock and was ready to start fresh with Bella. My thoughts toward his initial reaction was unchanged. Bella saw the physical change in his eyes. I guessed that meant he had fed and was calmer about whatever his reaction to Bella was about.

    4. What was your first explanation for the change in Edward’s eye color?
    He was calmer with the topaz eyes so I figured he had fed.

    • Thank you for your answers. I am thinking about making a way to archive all these answers, and over time, re-ask them, and allow you to see how your answers change with time. :).


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.