WTF Is This Shiz?!?! UPDATE: Summit says no Madonna in New Moon

So does not have anything at all to do with Twilight!

What the hell is this? I mean, words cannot describe my puzzlement at the news today from pretty much everywhere that Madonna might be in New Moon. My first thought was WHY? I can’t even imagine how anything from Madonna would be appropriate for anything in the Twilight universe. Maybe a song  on the soundtrack…? But I just don’t get it.

I’m feeling apprehensive about this movie. I started to feel little twinges of unease when Catherine was out. Then when they replaced her with Chris Weitz. (Who I only know from American Pie which was a great movie and all, but just completely NOT the direction for New Moon AT ALL). But I decided to just wait and see what was going to happen, I didn’t want to judge before I saw what the end product.

BUT THEN, there was the entire mess when they weren’t sure if they were going to keep Taylor Lautner for Jacob Black. I’m no Team Jacob member, not even close, but to me, that should never have even been a question at all. He is the perfect Jacob! WTF would be the point of getting someone else to play the part? Just because he gets taller and bulkier really fast? Hello? It’s called working out? And boys his age grow up really fast anyway, so they can age just a year, but look like 5 years older physically. I was really really worried about them not keeping him, but thankfully, that was all worked out and I will say that Taylor is looking very buff and adult. If I were 5 years younger… But since I’m not, I can lust after Rob guilt free, since we are the same age!

And now this Madonna thing. The article says that her manager Guy Oseary is an executive producer on the movie (since when? did he work on Twilight too?) and no one is clear yet if she is going to act or sing on the soundtrack.

Let’s see. If Madonna really HAS to be involved with the movie (and does she really? I mean really? What is the point?) then I would settle with her being on the soundtrack. I have a few of her songs on my Ipod (Ray of Light is awesome for cardio) and I really like a few of her ballads too.  So I could deal with her singing a song or two, as long as it was good and appropriate.

But I couldn’t deal with her being in the actual movie, possibly in a scene with Edward. That would just not do. The only thing I could imagine her playing is a member of the Volturi (which one, though?) because she has that toned look that is a little creepy, so I could picture her being a vampire. But please God, I really hope they do not write in some extra part for her or something and just screw the whole thing up. I don’t think Stephanie would let that happen, but there could be pressure from Summit or something.

I don’t know, I just hope everything works out with the movie and they include the parts of the book that NEED to be there (post on that later).

-Whitley

http://www.theinsider.com/news/1694304_Madonna_To_Suck_Blood_Out_Of_Twilight_Sequel_New_Moon

 

UPDATE: 

I checked Lexicon about 5 minutes ago and they have the news that says Summit said directly Madonna will NOT be acting in New Moon, her involvement, if at all, will be just on the soundtrack.

http://weblogs.variety.com/thompsononhollywood/2009/02/truth-or-dare-madonna-not-in-new-moon-pattinson-efron-on-oscars-spielbergs-lincoln.html

*GIANT SIGH OF RELIEF* 

-Whitley

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.