Chapter Disscussions: Twilight, Chapter Five – Blood Type

So it has been pretty much forever since we have done one of these, since Jeremy has been gone for his job and everything. Thankfully, he gets to come home on weekends, and the first thing I told him when I picked him up yesterday was, “We need to do a blog post ASAP.” (Well, maybe not the first thing I said, I’m not a totally bad girlfriend, I don’t think)

Anyway, we are now on to Chapter Five, and this is another one of my favorite parts of the book. This is the chapter where the blood typing experiment in Biology happens, causing Bella to nearly faint and guess who rescues her? You guessed it, Edward Cullen.

This is one of my favorite chapters because I can totally relate. I too get very queasy at blood, just thinking about it squicks me out. I also have experienced this in school (I was a freshman in high school), but the difference with me is that I ACTUALLY fainted and there was no sexy vampire there to rescue me. There was just the principal and the school nurse trying to ask me what I’d had to eat that morning (practically nothing, but I didn’t tell them that) and trying to hint to me that maybe I was pregnant. The school cops also showed up, thinking maybe I’d overdosed on drugs (The school I went to didn’t really have the most wholesome students, in case you didn’t pick up on that).

1. Do you personally relate to Bella feeling queasy around blood?

Why, yes, yes I do.

2. Were you afraid for Bella when Edward scooped her up? Did you think the fact that there was blood around might endanger her?  

No, I wasn’t scared for her. I was more like extremely jealous.

3. Edward says that Bella doesn’t seem like a junior in high school. Do you agree or disagree with that assessment?

Yes, completely. Bella is very mature for her age, and I imagine this was a surprise to Edward who had been around countless high school students his entire existence.

4. What did you think about Edward’s demeanor this chapter? How is it different than in the previous chapters?

I think that this chapter showed just really how much he cared about Bella, even though he didn’t want her to know. It especially shows when he helped Bella when she was sick. He wanted to make sure she was ok.

-Whitley


1. Do you personally relate to Bella feeling queasy around blood?

 Yes, I too am a pansy around blood… and even the potential showing of blood.


2. Were you afraid for Bella when Edward scooped her up? Did you think the fact that their was blood around might endanger her?

Nope, because Edward loves her! 


3. Edward says that Bella doesn’t seem like a junior in high school. Do you agree or disagree with that assessment?

Well, she doesn’t care about normal high school things.  But then again, she does because like high school juniors I knew, she is obsessed with a boy.


4. What did you think about Edward’s demeanor this chapter? How is it different than in the previous chapters?

I thought that this chapter showed how much Edward felt about Bella by the way he took care of her while she was sick, like I take care of Whitley!  (love you babe)


Thanks to Lauren’s Bite, the Twilight Lexicon forums, and the Lexicon member Alphie for these questions.

- Jeremy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.