The Beginning

I became a fan of the Twilight series on November 20, 2008. My mother had been begging me to read Twilight for months, and I had been declining, thinking it was just a “teen” book, and it sounded kind of stupid on top of that. I’m not a big fan of fantasy books, and vampires just seemed a little too much for me. I am a major fan of the romance genre, and never really had much use for teen books, even when I was a teen myself. All I really knew about Twilight from hearing other people talking about it was Edward Cullen was dreamy, and he sparkled. Um yeah, no thanks. I prefer “real” characters, people that might actually have a chance of existing.

My mom was really into the books, and gotten my sisters and me all tickets to go see the midnight premiere of the movie with her. Just out of a mild curiosity, I decided to read the book just to see how the movie differed. I had borrowed it from my mom weeks ago, and it had been sitting in the backseat of my car, hidden in a mountain of fast food wrappers and school papers for all that time. I dug it out and when I climbed into bed with my boyfriend later that night, I just planned to get through as much as I could. I wanted to get some sleep since I would be staying up for the midnight show the next night.

I read the first chapter, and was immediately hooked. What was Edward’s problem? Why was he so angry? Why was I feeling so intensely worried about it, as if it had actually happened to me? There was no prying the book from my hands after that.

I read the entire book in about 3-4 hours. There was no way I could have put it down. After I finished, I had the urge to go back and read the book again. I have loved to read for the majority of my life. I read like I breathe, I have to; I just can’t not do it. But I have never felt that way about another book before.

There was no way I could sleep after that. I was actually excited to go see this movie now. I couldn’t wait to see my favorite parts (the van, the baseball game, and now the sparkling!) brought to life. I thought Robert Pattinson was ok looking, I was reserving judgment about his portrayal of Edward (I was totally unaware of the uproar his casting had provoked in the fandom).

When I was up later that day, I could not stop talking about Twilight. My mom and youngest sister and already read it, and they were well aware of its awesomeness. When I found out my other younger sister hadn’t read it, I descended on her like a vulture on prey, gushing about how awesome the book was, and I couldn’t stop myself from telling her pretty much the entire plot until James came in, wanting to leave her something to be surprised at in the movie. My excitement rubbed off on her, and she was just as eager to see the movie as I was when I was done telling her about it. We drove to the movie together, meeting my mom and little sister, who were already waiting in a line that went all the way through the lobby, out the doors, and wrapped around the theater.

While we waited in line, I noticed the other people in line around us. There were young teen girls who giggled non-stop, the kind of audience I had associated with the book when I had first heard of it. But there were also women my mom’s age, other women in their 20’s like me, and even a few small children, who wearing their homemade Team Edward shirts with pride. I began to understand again the kind of universal appeal this book had, and thought it was pretty amazing that something could touch so many different types of people.

When we were finally allowed to be seated, the excitement in the air was palpable. A few people had even brought cameras. I felt more like I was at a concert, rather than a movie showing. That feeling intensified after the lights went down and everyone cheered and squealed in elation. I couldn’t help but join in. I was extremely grateful that I was in a theater seeing theater with like-minded people who wouldn’t judge me. I was sure my fangirly outbursts would not go over as well with another crowd.

The movie was amazing. Of course, there were problems with it, some things missing that I wished had been there. But I didn’t care about any of that, I was just so happy that I was actually seeing the universe I had been imagining, and I was enjoying with people that loved it like I did. I thought Robert brought Edward to life, and I can’t imagine anyone doing it better. My feelings toward him are no longer so ambivalent. When I heard the music he did in the movie, I realized how talented he really is, and my admiration (read: fan girl obsession) for him made me love the series that much more. The chemistry between Rob and Kristen really made the movie, that kiss was the most intense kiss I’ve ever seen in any movie. I was jealous.

Now, Twilight has taken over parts of my life. When my thoughts trail off in class, I find myself doodling Edward Cullen/Robert Pattinson’s name with mine in the margins of my notes. I have 3 or 4 Twilight related fansites I check every day. I look at every new outtake from the movie or photo shoot that is released.

I have started reading the books aloud to Jeremy, my boyfriend, the one who started this blog. We live together, and he has been very accommodating of my Twilight needs. We have two posters hanging proudly in the living room of our apartment, he’s taken me to see the movie twice (I’ve been 4 times). He’s even bought me one of the bags from Hot Topic, and he has a Twilight window decal proudly displayed on his truck. His like for Twilight is no where near to how big mine is, but I think he’s coming around…

-Whitley 

My Twilight experience began only after finally allowing Whitley to read the books to me not but 3 weeks ago.  Normally I would have just scoffed at the idea of trusting a “teen” book that wasn’t written by J. K. Rowling.  It was an interesting thing.  I hadn’t expected a non-“Harry Potter” book to be anything but slow and, as every other book that was meant replace the Potter series, just complete crap.

As I said, I finally allowed her to read it, and I was instantly drawn to the books.  The dynamic between Bella and the Cullens was something I had never read, let alone by a first time author.

I had made fun of Whitley and her obsession with the fictional, completely and impossibly perfect Edward Cullen.  I now understand why girls go crazy over him. He represents the perfect guy to them.

I don’t want to write a novel here on this opening blog post (*cough*Whitley*cough*), so I will let you go.

-Jeremy

3 Comments

  1. Great review. My experience reading Twilight for the first time is so like yours. I read it obsessively, and it felt like it was all happening to me. I wish my movie-going experience had been half as positive as yours, but it didn’t keep me from seeing it another 6 times. I think the theater I saw the midnight show in is cursed. I had a bad Order of the Phoenix experience there too.

    • Thank you Christa, though I am sure this was focused more toward Whitley ;). I read your comment aloud while she was in the kitchen making breakfast.

      I didn’t have a premier-going experience, but after reading all the books, I do intend to make it for the New Moon midnight showing. OOOOH wouldn’t that be awesome if it WAS under a new moon?

  2. Yes, I suppose it was focused more on Whitley. I’ll try to be careful of that in the future. 🙂

    Alas, it will be two days too late for the new moon, assuming New Moon comes out on time. November 16-18 will be the new moon. That would have been sweet though. They should give it a Wednesday premier so it will open on the new moon.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

