Chapter Disscussions: Twilight, Chapter Three – Phenomenon

"...the van shuddered to a stop a foot from my face..."“…the van shuddered to a stop a foot from my face…”

 

Ok guys, we are on to one of my favorite chapters in the whole series. This is the point where everything between Edward and Bella changed. I love the title of this one, Phenomenon. Reading it for the first time gave me a little thrill because I could tell that something amazing was going to happening when I read on. I still feel that same excitement when I read this chapter now.

Once again, thanks to the awesome blog Lauren’s Bite and the forums at Twilight Lexicon!

1. Bella is surprised and touched that Charlie put snow chains on her truck because she isn’t used to people taking care of her. Later on we know that Renee called Bella hysterical to have her come home yet Renee wasn’t in Phoenix. Given all of this what were your impressions of Renee?

What I got from that is that Renee definitely loves Bella, and wants her to be safe, but she was so flighty that she never put real thought or action into how to actually take care of Bella. Charlie loves her the same amount, he’s just a more practical person.

2. The accident is the first great action scene in the book. Did you get all the details right in your head the first time, or did you realize you missed finer points when Bella thinks about the accident later?

I had to re-read the actual accident part several times so I could get all the details right in my head. I also learned a few things when Bella was thinking about it later.

3. What did you think about Charlie’s response to the accident?

I thought he was a little over concerned, but I think about when I have kids, and if any of them almost got crushed by a van, I would probably react the same way too. I also wasn’t surprised when he called Renee. In the movie, when he threatened to take away Tyler’s licence, I thought that was pretty funny.

4. This is the first time we meet Carlisle. What were your first impressions

I thought he sounded dreamy of course, and I could tell he knew about Edward saving her, and he didn’t know what to think about that yet.

5. Did Edward’s cool and even sarcastic comments regarding the accident intrigue you or frighten you?

I knew he was mad at himself for saving her, but he didn’t regret it either. He was upset with her in a way like, “Look what you made me do.” because he wanted to deny that he had a strong need to save her. I also knew he was hoping she would brush it off and forget about it, so he tried to act cold toward her so she wouldn’t ask him any more questions about it. Needless to say, I was intrigued.

We were a little late on posting this, so we will do another Chapter Discussion very soon!

-Whitley

Alrighty, time for round 3, or as the French say “tres”.

1. Bella is surprised and touched that Charlie put snow chains on her truck because she isn’t used to people taking care of her. Later on we know that Renee called Bella hysterical to have her come home yet Renee wasn’t in Phoenix. Given all of this what were your impressions of Renee?

Renee doesn’t think things through.  Charlie does, plain and simple.

2. The accident is the first great action scene in the book. Did you get all the details right in your head the first time, or did you realize you missed finer points when Bella thinks about the accident later?

I think I got it all the first read through, but I’m about to be re-reading, so maybe I will pick something up that is new.

3. What did you think about Charlie’s response to the accident?

He acted exactly as I would if my daughter was in the same situation.  Freaked out, pissed, and very concerned.

4. This is the first time we meet Carlisle. What were your first impressions?

BAD ASS.  He is the essence of cool.  I feel that if the book was about his life, the following would still be just as great as it is with Bella and Edward.

5. Did Edward’s cool and even sarcastic comments regarding the accident intrigue you or frighten you?

I understood his comments, he was pissed, he wished he could have had her killed.  Think about Midnight Sun for a moment.  “I knew what had to happen now. The girl would have to come sit beside me, and I would have to kill her.” This was only days before he was stopping a van from squishing her.  It is probably best that he did save her, though.  He might have gone for her blood once it had spilled… Jasper too.

Thanks for reading.

~ Jeremy

2 Comments

  1. Once again, thanks you two for the interesting Q&A.

    1. Bella is surprised and touched that Charlie put snow chains on her truck because she isn’t used to people taking care of her. Later on we know that Renee called Bella hysterical to have her come home yet Renee wasn’t in Phoenix. Given all of this what were your impressions of Renee?
    She’s a good person and a caring Mom, but not quite all there. I like her better in the books than in the movie, I have to say.

    2. The accident is the first great action scene in the book. Did you get all the details right in your head the first time, or did you realize you missed finer points when Bella thinks about the accident later?
    I read it a little differently each time, so apparently I’m still missing finer points.

    3. What did you think about Charlie’s response to the accident?
    God bless Charlie. Love that guy. I love that he’s an older, curmudgeon-y version of Bella.

    4. This is the first time we meet Carlisle. What were your first impressions?
    “Ok, so he’s clearly a vampire, too. Oh, man, that guy’s hardcore! How does he work around the blood? Is he an ER doc? I hope we get to know more about him!”

    5. Did Edward’s cool and even sarcastic comments regarding the accident intrigue you or frighten you?
    Intrigue. With Edward and me it’s always intrigue. After reading this bit in Midnight Sun, I realized that I understood exactly what was going on with Edward, too. 🙂

    • I have to say I like Renee better in the books too. And I’m totally with you on the whole Edward is always intriguing thing too 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

